Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Be a part of the solution not a part of pollution. Few people believe that increasing the petrol price is the best way to tackle the traffic jam and also decreases the pollution. This essay will strongly disagree that rising in petrol price is the best way to solve the traffic and pollution problems.

To begin with, In this 21st century most of the vehicles are petrol engine vehicles. Firstly, the cost of petrol increases it may lead to the decrease in the number of vehicles on roads and it may also encourage the people to use more public transport rather than their own vehicle. Secondly, It helps the government to earn more taxes and the government can use the money to develop public facilities like government hospitals, government schools etc.

However, Increasing the price of petrol has so many demerits. Firstly, Most of the food transportation vehicles are petrol vehicles. So the transportation charge will increase and so automatically the price of the goods will also increase. It is going to be a great burden for the people and the government should encourage the people to use renewable sources of energy like solar energy. Secondly, there are so many to tackle the traffic problems. Building bridges and subways decreases the traffic. Improving public transportation as well as increasing the availability will help to decrease the pollution. Finally, Improvising the roads will also help to reduce traffic. To illustrate, the recent study by National Highway Authority of India claims that after improvising the structure of the roads in Chennai highway the traffic and accident rate is 25% less than the previous year.

To sum up, Increasing the petrol price has more cons. The government should encourage the people to use renewable sources of energy to control the pollution. This essay strongly opposes the idea of increasing the price of the petrol.