Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?what other measures and do you think might be effective?

In parallel to advancement in technology and hiking demand of vehicles, the problem of traffic and pollution has increased significantly. Presently, some proportion of masses assert that the price of petrol is a stupendous way to tackle these worrying concerns. I am strongly disagree with this statement and i believe, besides increasing the price of petrol,there are several methods to curb these threats.

Numerous points can be considered to support my point of view. First and foremost, increasing the price of petrol will lead to a rise in headline inflation. To demonstrate, higher price of petrol will indirectly affect the price of other goods such as food, medicines, clothes and so on in the market through increasing the cost of their transportation. Thence, this Trend can put adverse effect on citizens of a nation especially on middle class and destitute people. Moreover, upsurging the rate of petrol will surely throw the business of automobile industry at the back seat as people will not use personal vehicle owing to this trend. Therefore, unlike controlling the problem of grid-lock and contamination, this trend will create new problems.

Other liable measures must be taken by regime to cope up with this concerns. Initially, government should not only improve the public transportation but also increased their availability around the clock. This initial step would definitely stimulate people to public transportation and will resulted in the decrease of traffic jam as well as reduced the toxic emissions in ambience. Besides this, some transport policies must be taken by higher authorities. For instance, in London, there is congestion charge and it must be adopted by all nations which would help them to reduce traffic jam, and emission of detrimental gases, and help to reduce air pollution.

To recapitulate, I am strongly oppose with the idea of enhancing the price of petrol to restrain this worrying concerns. Therefore, I still believe that it is the first assignment of government to take some other remedial measures to nip the problem of traffic and pollution from the bud.