Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Our planet is increasingly polluted day by day and many consider the rise in the number of cars as the main culprit behind it.They argue that making petrol prices go high is the most appropriate method to resolve the problem of pollution and increasing traffic.I don’t agree with this argument because beside its use in transportation ,fossil fuels are also used in many other important sectors. In my opinion switching to the renewable sources of energy and investment in public transportation are more effective solutions.

Many countries economy is dependent on petrol because of it’s use for different purposes like generation of electricity, textile industry and in aviation industry etc.This is exemplified by the dependence of Pakistan on petrol, where around for 40% of total electric power is generated by it and the prices if go high can crumble it’s economy.

There are many sustainable solutions to these problems. Investing in renewable sources of energy is one of them. Countries should put both their efforts and money in this sector because this can significantly lower pollution.For instance, cars that run on solar energy have no emission of hazardous smoke and pollutants.

The traffic problem can be managed affectively by funnelling the funds to public transport sector and by constructing trains and metro bus services. As an illustration ,Metro bus built in Lahore has affectively controlled the heavy traffic by lowering the use of cars and in turn leading to less pollution.

In conclusion, this essay believes that raising petrol prices is not a permanent solution to increasing pollution and traffic jams because many economies depends on it. These problems can be addressed by working on renewable sources of energy and up gradation of public transport.