Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

There is an opinion that the best measure of tackling traffic issues and environmental problems is to increase the price of oil. Although this action could be a solution, there are more practical and useful steps that governments can take.

It can not be denied that raising the high cost of petrol could deal with not only environmental degradation but also traffic congestion. The main reason is that many car owners would hesitate to take advantage of their vehicles often due to heavy petrol price, which might make them feel burdensome financially. For this reason, traffic jams, especially in metropolitan cities can drop significantly. Also, as there will be much less CO2 emissions caused by a large number of automobiles, environmental contamination, particularly global warming will be reduced substantially.

However, there are a couple of more feasible policies which deter these social issues. First and the foremost, by imposing a green tax on the public, governments can develop better-managed public transportation systems such as repairing old-road, which makes it is difficult for car owners to go and from work readily. This practice is likely to lessen traffic problems efficiently. Besides, if authorities encourage the general public to take public transit more than take their cars consistently through various green campaigns the society enables to expect a better environment with a cleaner atmosphere because of the decreased amount of CO2 levels in the air. In these contexts, such unpleasant problems can be solved.

In conclusion, I, by and large, disagree with this statement that increasing cost of petrol is the best solution because there are more effective initiatives that governments can take such as levying hefty tax and campaigns, which allow people to be aware of the importance of our environment.