Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, it is generally acknowledged that a progress of a nation is based from the new contributions brought about change by the government or large institutions and not individuals. This essay disagrees and believes that change and development begins from a single entity.

It is an indisputable fact that an individual plays a pivotal role in allowing society to function. This is because, organizations are made up of individuals brought together to enable the group to achieve its mission. As a result, these organizations can make an enormous change because these entities have established a strong bond and shares the same goals towards the same advocacy. For example, Non-profit organizations are group of people dedicated in advocating for a particular point of view and making some changes to contribute to the society without gaining any profit. Moreover, my former colleague who established his own youth movement and platform for rural community development catering to more than 5 million youths in the Philippines to provide free education and health. However, it could also lead to the contrary of the good, for instance, the uprising of Arab springs brought together to revolutionized the rule of the local governments in the Middle Eastern regions.

On the other hand, government and large institutions acts for the society as a whole and often times effective in achieving success. Due to the reason that, they have a leader who plans and delegates work efficiently and respectively to an individual. In addition, Political power and substantial resources are the key factors in the improvements of a nation. For instance, the dictatorship of our late president of the Philippines, Ferdinand Marcos. He was an authoritarian who made an exponential growth to the economy through economic development strategies. As well as, large institutions like NASA who incessantly yields research because they are being funded with tremendous subsidies from the government.

In my opinion, I strongly agree that individuals can bring about tremendous change in the society. For without these entities, no government or even large institutions can be formed.