Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about environmental protection. However, whether every citizen can make contributions to the improvements of environment or they are sole responsibilities of governments and corporations has caused heated debate. My view is that the cooperation between authorities, firms and residents should be required.

On the one hand, it is clear that governments and big companies have been taking several measures in order to curb environmental pollution. While some factories have installed waste treatment systems with a view to restricting toxic chemicals discarded into the rivers, governments are actively involved in international treaties of carbon neutrality. This is because both parties will obtain sustainable benefits if the systems and agreements are applied in large scale and in long term. Besides, the powerful authorities also enact laws that punishments will be given to those who deliberately do harm to the environment. For example, Singaporean inhabitants who were found to have littered in the public park via CCTV system will have to pay over $200 in fines.

On the other hand, the involvement of dwellers in environmental preservation should also be taken into account. Firstly, residents in many countries have been making efforts to change their shopping behaviors, in particular, replacing plastic bags with recyclable ones. If people continue utilizing the synthetic holders despite governmental endeavors, soil and water will keep being contaminated. Furthermore, residents’ daily travel is also a contributor to increasing amount of emissions that are to blame for air pollution and global warming apart from industrial production. Private cars and motorbikes, whose numbers are on the rise, engender significant amount of greenhouse gases such as CO2 and CO. Therefore, only when inhabitants’ preferable means of transportation are switched to public ones, will the air quality be improved.

In conclusion, governments and corporations play a pioneering role in the fight against environmental pollution, which ensures the sustainability of human life. Meanwhile, we should not underestimate the other crucial roles citizens are undertaking.