Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a

difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the government and large enterprises play a vital role in protecting environment. While some argue that national citizens do not have any actions to make a contribution to help combat environmental degradation, I completely disagree with this statement.

The first reason in favor of my argument is that the authority and large corporations take responsibility for taking steps to alleviate ecological crisis. From powerful national leader perspective, environment standard policies must be enacted and enforced internationally. These rules are more likely to be useful to cover an enormous number of obstacles to overcome such as the protection of endangered species, a halt to habitat destruction as well as those funds used for investigating alternative energy sources, aiming to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels. In terms of corporate responsibility, all producers should invest a large amount of money in modern technologies to handle and clean these toxic chemical waste instead of releasing them into the air. Moreover, managers should control and cut down on emissions from their factories, reducing smoke and exhaust fumes as much as possible. At last but not least, achieving sustainable development plan those managers have a tendency to conduct is just only successful by not depleting natural sources.

Another reason supporting my view is that individuals can exert profound effects on ecological system. These include changing patterns of consumption of citizens. For example, eliminating all products made of plastic has been linked to replacing plastic material with the clean sustainable materials for production of green products such as bamboo straws, coconut bowls. Moreover, a limitation of using nylon-based bag is one of main contributor to build up the green environment. In addition, buying local products can reduce food miles as well as smoke from means of transportation. A different option to protect the environment is to take part in NGOs, directing to raise fund to protect plants and animals on the brink of extinction. In other words, this can emphasize on the green movement based on initiatives operated by government

In conclusion, while authority and big businesses have a greater responsibility for reducing environmental problems, locals play a significant role in that. I totally disagree that individuals are powerless to save our earth.