Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that no one can mitigate environmental issues, apart from the governments and big corporations. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement because we should join hands to protect our environment.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why individuals can make a substantial contribution to environmental mitigation. From the perspective of the gas emission, by reducing the amount of carbon footprint, the residents use public transportations such as bus, train instead of the personal vehicle. In this way, we not only cut down on expenses but also limit the effect on ozone layer depletion. In addition to the reduction of greenhouse gases, our living responsibility is daily rubbishes. When we classify litters and throw them in the right place, the pollution on our living is controlled; this will impact positively on people’s health and climate change. For example, if we divide into three kinds of litters, including organic, inorganic, and recycled rubbish, it helps factories in garbage disposal without difficulty.

On the other hand, in terms of the role of authorities and organizations for nature. Firstly, the government should take strict measures to many businesses that are irresponsible for chemical waste released into rivers, oceans. This action will prevent the resource of polluted water from the daily life of residents nearby and save the annual budget for cleaning rivers. Secondly, big companies producing productions which are packaged by plastic should use eco-friendly materials such as paper, glass, giving rise to awareness of consumer in protecting the earth. For instance, many clothing stores contain productions in paper bags in place of plastic bags for customers.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I still hold my initial view that the responsibility of the environment is not a personal one