Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is some dispute whether the authorities should sponsor for athletes to compete at the Olympics or investment in raising public health. In my opinion, each approach has their own merits and combination of both would be more beneficial for nations.

Financing athletes joining Olympics would benefit a nation in many ways. First, when a professional sport player win a medal, their flag is raised along with other winning competitors. This gives their citizens a great sense of national pride. An addition point is that by investing in professional athletes, countries are able to increase their soft power in other worlds they can enhance their national image, which may hold the key to open various opportunities of cooperation in many fields with other countries. To illustrate, Son Heung Min, a famous Korean football player is the representative of Korean who endorse many products for Korean companies. Thus, successful Olympians play important role in developing many aspects of countries.

Having said that, spending on improvement of people's healh is also fundamental. Without the majority of population being healthy, nations would suffer from low national productivity which is one of the main culpirt of enconomies' slow growth. However, given adequate funding of sporty infrastructure and facilities, the political leaders would provide their citizens with places to do regular exercise. This motivates a more healthy lifestyle and ameliorates the impacts of common sedentary lifstyle these days. More importantly, development of recreational areas acts as a stimulus for social solidarity. This is because people will soon flock to where sport equipment installed and they are likely to get involved in meaningful conversation which in turn gives them a sense of communal living.

In the light of these facts, support for sport professionals is neccessary for raising reputation of nations but maintaining public health through social programmes is of equal importance. Therefore, it would be better for the society as a whole that the two strategies are made used together.