The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations to reduce their consumption of fossil fuels e.g. gas and oil.

The greatest threat for humanity and for all life forms on the Earth is global warming caused by human actions. I strongly believe that all countries should closely coordinate to drastically reduce the consumption of fossil fuels since pollution in a country impacts others and no country will take the initiative due to the economic impacts of such measures.

The pollution of every country impacts the environment of other countries in one way or another. Excessive plastic usage in India, for instance, impacts Singapore and Saudi Arabia. The Indian plastic, which is manufactured from crude oil, is irresponsibly dumped in the oceans. This pollution not only contaminates the local marine life but also that of other countries. Similarly, pollution from China’s coal-powered plants and steel mills impacts the environment of Japan in adverse ways and depletes the ozone layer over other countries. Since water and air cannot be divided between different countries and they act as a single global system, all countries must act together to reduce dependence on fossil fuels.

Moreover, this is an era of competition in which all countries compete with others to produce goods at a low price. Since reducing reliance on crude oil will entail huge investments in alternative sources and this will increase the price of all manufactured goods, no country will take an initiative. The country which takes the initiative will lose a competitive edge over others. Consequently, all countries should come together on a common platform such as the United Nations and pledge to curtail the use of fossil fuels in an organized manner.

In conclusion, the future of humanity is at stake and the price of not acting is too high. I think all countries must cooperate and impose strict reduction targets on all countries.