International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited. Do you think advanatges outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that the growth of the international travel industry has exerted positive influences on tourists as well as the host country. While there are some drawbacks of international travel, I still believe that these can not overshadow the benefits.

On the one hand, the downsides of international travel are varied. In terms of the tourists themselves, travel expenses in famous tourist destinations such as Ha Long Bay in Vietnam are grossly inflated. Travelers may be overcharged for everything from a taxi, accommodation or a meal in a restaurant. In terms of the host country, international travel can also pose a threat to the environment. If the amount of rubbish illegaly dumped into the surroundings and the construction of hotels and tourist attractions were unregulated, it would lead to a rise in the levels of pollution and greatly damage the environment. For example, many beach resorts in Vietnam have beome concrete jungles of high-rise hotels and apartments to satisfy the increasing demand for accommodation of mass tourists from Europe.

On the other hand, I still believe that the advantages of international travel outweig the disadvantages. First , a trip to another country can provide travelers countless opportunites to gain a great deal of fascinating experieces of cuisine and culture. For instance, when foreign tourists come to Vietnam, they have a chance to use chopsticks, enjoy traditional meals and have a thorough insight into local residents’ life.Second, the influx of foreign tourists can also contribute greatly to the development of the host country through the provision of jobs and services for the developing hotels and construction industries. This postively affects the host country’s economic expansion and ameliorate local citizens’ standards of living.

I conclusion, it appears to me that the drawbacks of international travel can not eclipse the benefits.