The Internet has dramatically altered our lives over the past few decades. Although some of these changes have been negative, the overall effect of this technology has been positive. What are your opinions on this?

With the development and innovation of modern technology, the Internet is seen as a dispensable part of our life nowadays. Therefore, its role is becoming more and more vital than ever. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the overall effect of the Internet has been positive or negative. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I still believe that the benefits far outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people oppose the rapid thriving of the Internet has a negative impact on the quality of life. To begin with, splurging a huge amount of time surfing the Internet definitely do more harm than good. This is because the green light released from the smart devices’ screens will reduce vision and eyesight, indirectly making people become lazy to do exercises and keep fit, especially the youth. It is the common reason why today more and more residents are suffering from a variety of severe diseases related to the heart, immune systems, or being overweight, for example. Furthermore, laying on the sofa all day and sticking to social platforms may lead to getting isolated from the community. In the long term, they will not get in touch face-to-face with their beloved ones, and as a result, their circle of friends will be narrowed. In worse situations, they will be affected by some mental problems and get stuck in a hopeless life, due to losing precious relationships. For instance, in the US, there are recorded many premature cases caused by suicide after over-abusing social sites for a long time.

Equally importantly, though, the Internet has placed the entire world at our fingertips. We have to consider the positive advantages that it brings. First of all, the Internet does a plethora of wonders for human life. It helps us get instant access to relevant information anywhere and anytime, thereby creating more chances for us to come in useful the wealth of knowledge. So today, going to school is not compulsory anymore for students, because they can attend online classes instead. Therefore, they will be more active in making progress in their study as well as self-improvement. The second reason lies in the community had a difficulty in maintaining connections with distant relatives in the past. But now, with the support of the social networking sites such as Messenger and Zalo, distance is no longer a big problem. Not only do away with language barriers but also bring people close together, and fosters harmony and solidarity between nations all over the world. Additionally, it is a convenient tool to allow us to get the latest updated news.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the Internet has had a positive impact on modern life because of its influence on communication and the flow of information.