People in the community can buy cheaper products nowadays. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Today we are living in the age of commercialism with different trading activities, so individuals in society can purchase inexpensive goods. In my view, I believe the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

People today are able to buy more affordable products, which means that the gap between the rich and the poor is lessened. For example, many mobile phone manufacturers are producing cheaper products that can meet the needs of people having the different financial abilities. Moreover, the less pricy the merchandise is, the more demand the companies need. If the consumption of products increases rapidly among citizens, employers have to hire a large number of workers in order to meet the needs of consumers. Therefore, this will promote the country's economic development.

On the other hand, there are some adverse effects that need to be addressed. People consume a great number of goods, which may release more household waste and industrial effluent. Consequently, people will be faced with much environmental pollution. This may make them suffer from serious health problems, typically influencing the immune system. Additionally, with the exaggeration of emissions, not only do they cause pollution, but they also worsen the process of global warming having more unexpected consequences in living habitats than ever.

In conclusion, supplying affordable merchandise will bring more benefits, and make them universally attainable to lower-income families. Nevertheless, the government should pass laws to raise awareness in the community about environmental issues to make this approach better.