Nowadays people tend to have children at an older age. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages.

Today, the tendency of individuals being parents prefers to be at a more advanced age. This issue, i believe, would bring some significant advantages which i will explain in this essay

First and foremost, one notable advantage of delayed parenthood is the pursuit of future career. Many individuals prioritize establishing their professional and educational goals before embracing the parental responsibilities. For instance, The New York Times revealed that most of upper-middle-class American women put off childbearing to settle their career for over 30’s. Furthermore, financial stability becomes the most significant factor which allows middle-adulthood couples to accumulate financial resources, providing a more stable and nurturing environment for children. Undoubtedly, the escalating costs ranging from prenatal to education underscore the major significance of financial preparedness, an article published by Cureus.

Conversely, this current behaviour arouses the potential for age-related health complications. Biologically, advanced maternal age links to a decline in fertility. This means that mother greatly pose higher consequences of miscarriage, pregnancy failure, thus, a child may risk suffering from chromosome abnormalities, even Down Syndrome. Another disadvantage involves a reduced energy level for parenting, aside from a social stigma too old to up-bring their offspring. Older parents, according to Reserach Gate, may face challenges in keeping up with the physical and energetic demands of parenting, potentially impacting on less available time of quality spent with their children.

To sum up, despite some substantial drawbacks, I would argue that to give a birth in a later age brings more major benefits to modern parents. Those include achieving prospect career and stabilising financial savings.