Internet when used as a source of information, has more drawbacks than advantages. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The Internet has turned our existence upside down. It has changed the way people nowadays access the information by just a click of a button. However, not all the data reported on the internet seems to be reliable. In my own perspective, the disadvantages when internet used as a huge storage of news outweigh the advantages of using it as a reference.

There are many reasons why more and more people rely on the internet as their news source. Firstly, the Internet stands a good chance of providing up-to-the-minute news as it happens. In fact, anyone who has access to a smart phone and an internet connection can now find information about their choice across the globe within a matter of seconds. For example, statistics in Harvard University depicts that in a day, about 4,000 students use the public internet that is available inside the campus, which shows that the internet is used exhaustively among the younger generation to search for any information to be fetched in no time.

In contrast, using the internet as a main source of information can lead to many dangerous effects among people. First of all, the internet allows anyone and everyone to be a writer and a publisher. No one will ask them whether they are qualified to do so. As a result, some inappropriate contents including graphic violence, sex scenes, and sexual connotations have been appeared, which become an issue that negatively shapes people’s views especially children’s. Another disadvantage of internet information is the amount of fake news has been significantly increased in recent years to draw the public’s attention, which leads to degrading the degree of authenticity.

In conclusion, there are several drawbacks which outweigh the advantages of using the internet. Only by having a good grasp of choosing the information can we take our roots from distorted news.