‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’

How far do you agree with this prediction?

It is anticipated that the conventional reference books are so crucial that they cannot be replaced by the internet. While conceding the effectiveness of the technology, I strongly advocate this prediction.

There is no doubt that the traditional school books are of paramount importance. First and foremost, course books provide the students with accurate fundamental knowledge. Though the Internet also have the knowledge, with thousands of diversified copies, the students may be met up with difficulty of finding the correct information. Secondly, excessive using laptop increases the chance of having sight-related problems. For instance, after the quarantine, more and more students have short-sighted vision due to spending too much time studying by computer. Thirdly, teachers as well as students in third world countries cannot afford the prohibitive quotes of accessing the internet. The examples can be seen in Viet Nam, Laos, Cambodia, especially in mountainous areas.

There is a host of arguments suggested that the internet can be used as replacement for the conventional course books. Firstly, it is strongly believed that the internet has a wide range of materials, which is fiercely useful. However, the information of the internet is not inspected, therefore, there might be false knowledge provided. Secondly, using the internet as a new method of teaching can arouse students’ interest for the lesson. Despite this, the learners are undoubtedly mostly inspired by their instructors, which leads to teaching method being less vital.

In conclusion, my view is that the Internet cannot be used as replacement for the traditional schoolbooks, due to various reasons.