Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and that there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that selecting candidates for the company is one of the most crucial processes of all organizations since it directly influences their futures and growth. In light of this, whether an interview is a trustable way to choose whom to employ has become a topic of general interest among citizens. Although some people believe this is a reliable method, I would argue that doing the interview is unsuitable, and there is another better way to replace this form.

Some people give a reason why doing an interview is a reliable method. An advocate for this opinion might argue that interviewing facilitates recruiters to see how agile and flexible the candidates are. Most occupations of most fields require fast reaction towards situations as one of the key elements. Therefore, if the interviewees can cope with the list of questionnaires that the interviewers ask persuasively and appropriately, possibly they are excellent individuals. However, candidates can partly predict the questions they will be asked to learn by heart. The interview's quality will be downgraded, and the company cannot judge their aptitudes correctly.

In my opinion, interviewing is an untrustable way that companies should not base on this to select candidates. This is because there are elements that can occur on the interview day. Being too nervous, for example, can cause interviewees not to express all of their abilities and values. In addition, interviewing cannot judge the candidates' aptitude accurately. Besides learning by heart the predicted questions, interviewees tend to flatter themselves to make them outstanding figures in front of recruiters to increase their chances of being accepted, but once they officially work for the company, they cannot do the things they have said before. Another better way to this dilemma is to base on resumes and along with organizing internships. The resumes will help recruiters to have a more overall look and assessment of the candidates, and internships will reflect their pure aptitudes and whether they are suitable for the environment. Therefore, the company can make wiser decisions.

In conclusion, although the interview is one of the compulsory stages in most companies to recruit employees currently, this method is unreliable because it cannot assess the candidates' true abilities and is easily affected by subjective factors. Instead, viewing resumes and holding internships together is a better choice since recruiters can have a closer look at the candidates' person.