Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and that there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that selecting candidates for the company is one of the most crucial stages of all organizations since it directly influences their futures and growth. In light of this, whether interviewing is a trustable way to choose whom to employ has become a topic of general interest among citizens. Although this might be reliable to an extent, I would argue that doing the interview is unsuitable and combining internships and viewing resumes is the better way to replace this form.

Some people give a reason why doing an interview is a reliable method. An advocate for this opinion might argue that interviewing facilitates recruiters to see how agile and flexible the candidates are. Most occupations require fast reactions towards situations as one of the key elements. Therefore, if the interviewees can cope with the list of questionnaires that the interviewers ask persuasively and appropriately, possibly they are excellent individuals and might be accepted. However, candidates can partly predict the questions they will be asked to learn by heart. Therefore, the interview's quality will be downgraded, and the company cannot judge their aptitudes correctly.

In my opinion, interviewing is an untrustable way to select employees. This is because there are undesirable factors that can occur on the interview day. Being too nervous, for example, can cause interviewees not to express all of their abilities and values. In addition, interviewing cannot judge the candidates' aptitude accurately. Besides learning by heart the predicted questions, interviewees tend to flatter themselves to make them outstanding figures in front of recruiters to increase their chances of being accepted. However, once they officially work for the company, they cannot do the things they have said previously. Another better way to solve this dilemma is to base on resumes and along with organizing internships. Resumes will help recruiters to have a more overall look and assessment of the candidates, and internships will reflect their pure aptitudes and whether they are suitable for the environment. Therefore, the company can make wiser decisions.

In conclusion, although the interview is one of the compulsory stages in most companies to recruit employees currently, this method is unreliable because it cannot assess the candidates' true abilities and is easily affected by subjective factors. Instead, viewing resumes and holding internships together is a better choice since recruiters can have a closer look at the candidates' person.