It is argued that we are living in a throw-way society: people throw away what they use in daily life, instead of recycling or reusing them. Why has this happened and how to address this issue?

Cheap disposable commodities helped people live in a convenient and low-cost way, but the environmental price is significant. Several factors contribute to the throw-away culture. Both short-term and long-term approaches should be adopted to address the problem.

Modern life is featured by long office time and high cost of living. People need the throw-away lifestyle to catch up with the pace of the world. To save time, people eat take away food packaged by disposable materials. To dress as beautiful as possible at the least cost, they swarm into H&M and Zara for fast fashion clothing, which is characterized by mediocre quality and is supposed to be worn only for one season. Mass production and advances in the chemical industry have enabled the throw-away culture by providing low cost but usable products.

The ever-changing electronic equipment further deteriorated the problem. Unlike traditional household appliances, phones and computers update every year. Because they are too complicated for people to upgrade by themselves, people have to ditch the old one for a new one. Every year more than 100 million phones are replaced. The electronic waste can be harmful to the environment.

To deal with the problem, we should launch initiatives to reduce the use of disposable materials and increase the recycling of useful things. Encouraging people to donate out-of-season clothes to impoverished people is the first step. Forbidden the use of disposable crockery in restaurants could be helpful, too. From the long-term perspective, governments should subsidize research on recyclable materials, help them to replace harmful substances in the manufacture of electronic equipment.