It is true that people in urban regions are being prone to being couch potatoes
and lazy sloths due to their lack of regular exercise. This can be explained by some
reasons, and solutions can be taken to eliminate the problem.
Two reasons are to blame for this trend. Firstly, the hectic schedule that many
people are having pressurizes them into the maelstrom of work/study and
depriving them of time for sufficient exercise. Children have to occupy themselves
with school assignments and examinations while employees have to attend
frequent meetings with customers to secure contracts. These activities detach
modern people from non-work/study activities and they tend to less prioritize
physical activities. Secondly, people in the cities would lack the facilities to
practice sports or other healthy activities. There are few parks, and if there are
any, there are only some horizontal bars or parallel bars, which are not
adequate to accommodate the needs of every citizen.
Some measures should be taken to address the issue, and schools/companies and
government should provide education or hold social campaigns to yield desirable
outcomes. As for schools, they should be responsible for instilling in children a
sense of health awareness and necessary background health-related knowledge.
For instance, children should be motivated to be proactive in keeping fit and
staying healthy by the inclusion of more physical education classes. Besides,
companies should give their staff more flexi time or sponsor gym membership for
them. As for the governments, they can run some social campaigns to encourage
the citizens to maintain health via TV programmes, banners on the street. As well
as this, more funds should be allocated to the construction of more sports
facilities in the cities.
In conclusion, people have a tendency to do sport or other physical activities less;
however, efforts can be taken by both schools and governments to deal with this
situation.