It is expected in the near future that there will be a higher proportion of old people compared to younger population in some countries.

Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and examples.

It is true that due to medical advancements and increased awareness regarding the health in general, people would expect to live longer than ever before in the foreseeable future, and in many parts of the world, a larger proportion of the population would be constituted by more elderly people. In my opinion, the overall effects of such a trend would be negative.

From an individual perspective, as the populations of countries grow older, a variety of related problems can be anticipated. To begin with, ageing population would undoubtedly pose a greater financial burden on working adults, as the younger portion of society would be smaller and as such, less money would be received by governments in terms of taxes in relation to the size of the population. Hence, a feasible solution for local authorities would be to impose higher tax rates on working people, replenishing national budgets. At the same time, the youth will increasingly have to allocate more time looking after their relatives, as the elderly are more susceptible to illnesses, hindering them either to spend adequate quality time with their offspring or friends, or to take part in leisure activities as much as they might desire.

Alongside individual issues, on a macro scale, ageing population could bring about a range of negative consequences. Firstly, having fewer young professionals to replace the retiring population, nations would encounter the shortage of skilled manpower, impeding economic growth. This is perhaps why some countries, such as Germany and Canada, have previously embarked on immigration programs, taking efforts to attract a younger and more productive skilled workforce, bolstering their economy. The second large-scale drawback of such a trend would be the fact that if the rate of birth in a nation is higher than mortality rate, ageing population would lead to population boom during the course of time, posing more pressure on world’s natural resources, many of which are already on the brink of exhaustion and depletion.

In conclusion, it seems to me that various individual, governmental and environmental problems are certain to arise as people’s longevity increases.