It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

It is noticeable that the number of letter users continously decline, as many people these days find it convenient and instant using modern ways of communication. There are several causes and inevitable effects of this trend, which i will outline now.

The major cause is probably the almost universal use of digital technology by which people are able to spread information easily. Chatting applications are available in many kinds of forms and additional purposes, that support not only texting but also video calling. These extra functions lead to streotyping letter as an old-fashioned method of communicating, so that writing letter becomes gradually abandoned. The second key cause is that the time taken to receive an letter could be too long which would make many letter users unpleasent. It is commonly known that transmitting letters via post could require several days or even months.

Regarding the effects of this trend, perhaps the main impact is a decline in one's hand-writing skills. When texting messages via mobile phone, people often use a special type of terms which do not obey the grammatical rules. It is notable that many young people in college have such a difficult way for communicating effectively in writing although they have written plenty of different papers. Furthermore, using instant electronic means of communication contributes to breaking the bond between users. This technology allows people to have two and more conversation in the same times, thus they do not pay attention a lot to one single person. Contrast with letter, while it is being written, people would focus on person who they communicate with and this foster a stronger relationship.

Overall, the presence of technology and complicated transfer system of letter are the key causes behind this phenomenon. Moreover, the effects potentially damaging for next generation range from declining in writing capability to decreasing the quality of relationship.