It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

A broad agreement of comparison between nowadays and a century before signs that fewer people apply mail system to send letters. This essay then will identifies reasonable causes and estimates effects on later generation relating to this circumstance.

Regarding the causes, many people invent a plausible excuse that sending a message through electronic mail offers more considerable benefits than via post office. Firstly, it is widely known that mailing letters through email is faster than that through traditional post. Example can be seen from the fact that postman normally spends more than a day for addressing mail, while in only a brief seconds, e-mail provider can deliver our letters. Furthermore, as technologies are developing, it is often said that e-mail are more available for wider society than mail. This means that sending letters via e-mail is now accessible for people in some remote areas where they often encounter technical difficulty in coming into post office.

Turning to the potential impacts, it is expected for later generation that this circumstance will dictate people to relatively lack of handwriting skill if they previously tend to apply e-mail system. This is because person intensively writes a message by handwriting style in order to devote attention in letters, so this skill will decrease as there is no requisite to adopt. Another possible effect is a rise in unemployment numbers, meaning that job opportunities as postman will not be available for the next generation due to postman’s services remaining by no means essential. This happens when fewer people implement mail system, thus post office will be dissolved.

Overall, it is possible to conclude that the benefits from e-mail, fast delivery and widespread availability, enhance people to write electronic mail. Consequently, this will address some impacts on coming generation such as lack of handwriting and a rise in unemployment numbers.