Female students prefer arts in schools and universities compared to those of male who tend to choose science. What are the possible factors behind this trend? Do you think this tendency should be changed?

The phenomenon on behalf of university and school entrance has occurred on which there is propensity among male and female students to enroll differently on science and art subject, respectively. This essay will examine some plausible causes of this, and present my opinion on the appropriateness of this trend.

Regarding the causes, the one possible is that subject chosen would be based on student interest as internal factor. This can be clarified in particular situation in which girls are fond of artistic matters and seem greatly able to express themselves. Secondly, students would enroll on course reflecting their personal characteristics. Example can be seen on boys who generally are mentally active and possess a great deal of energy, and this matter causes them to have the sense of Math or Physic. Finally, moving to the external factors, it is probable that students in some cases would be enhanced by their parents to plan the subject potentially beneficial for the future life. The reason is provided by the parent’s traditional conception in which the men who play a big role in earning money should pursue aim of undertaking highly-income works, such as doctors or banker, leading them to study at practical science in university.

By considering the causes explained, I am convinced that only when there is no external factors considered will the tendency of choosing subjects based on gender be more advantageous and unnecessary to be transformed. This is because it is essential that every student stipulate the internal factors, student interest and personal characteristic, on behalf of university or school entrance.

To conclude, the factors, leading students to have different tendency for selecting certain subject, are student interest, personal characteristics and parental encouragement. Hence, I would perceive that these factors aim to offer potential benefits and let this tendency become essentially existed.