It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the substantial development of technology, people tend to find another way to broaden their horizon rather than originally read books, they prefer to watch television instead because it is more convenient and approachable. However, I still stand the view that reading can help people become more imaginative and enrich their language skills for many reasons.

First of all, reading is beneficial not just in terms of developing our imagination, but also let our creativity bloom. While reading, people are allowed to go with the flow of the story, put themselves in the character’s shoes and they have a picture in their heads of what is going to happen next. Trying to visualize how the character looks is also a way to stimulate their imagination, as a fact that each person has their own expectation, their character is also different. For example, when people have to think about a charming prince, a part believes that he wears a royal costume, and sits on his gold throne, the other thinks of a men with blonde hair and blue eyes is riding his white horse. It depends on their culture or basically, the fairy tales that they often hear about. Reading gives them an opportunity to imagine bases on the script, while watching creates a specific appearance and they have to accept it without thinking more.

Another reason is reading help sharpen the language skills. People can enrich their vocabulary and learn a new sentence structure effortlessly. Furthermore, it helps them to remember longer because while reading, people take time to pore over what they do not understand. While I agree that watching TV can also help you with communication, but reading still give more rewards in the long run.

In conclusion, I believe that reading is way more efficient to increase your creativity as well as improve your language skills.