In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some cases, children thrive in school so there is no reason to consider any alternatives. In other cases, children have such a bad time at school or for whatever reasons, home education becomes a necessity. In fact, there is an upward trend for parents who want to let their children study at home instead of regular school education. This essay looks at some of the pros and cons of the home education, but from my perspective its drawbacks outweigh the benefits may it bring.

One of the amazing benefits that have to be told is the individual attention and instruction between the parents and their children. May they have more than one child but the attention they give is definitely far more than a teacher with a class of twenty or thirty. With this advantage, the children can easily have a good grasp on the lessons. In addition, if they do not understand anything they can totally ask their parents at any time during day or night. Another benefit is the flexibility on holidays due to the fact that they do not have to follow the schedule all the times and can immediately take a day off whenever they want.

On the other hand, home education still has many disadvantages. Firstly, when children stay home schooled, they cannot make friends or have many chances to interact with those at the same age. As a result, home educated children tend to be less sociable and have more difficulties when trying to fit in any communities. Secondly, home education requires a parent to work full-time as an instructor, a teacher and a friend to their children and also, they must have experience in teaching and educating; therefore, this is not for every family. Finally, it may be complex for further application to universities or colleges.

Overall, it is important to consider the particular situation and the needs of the children to determine the most appropriate method for their education.