In some cities, there are few controls on the design and construction of homes and other buildings, and owners can decide on the styles of their houses.

Do the advantages of this outweigh its drawbacks?

It is a fact that more and more cities have little regulation of building and construction. While this development can satisfy the demands of many individuals and companies, I tend to feel the negatives of this outweigh its positives in many ways.

One of the great advantages of less control is the fact that designers can freely express their creativity in term of creating unique architectures. As a result, they are allowed to take more risks and experiments with various shapes and materials, which makes the cities look incredibly attractive to tourists. Also, it can speed up the building process because the governments rarely interfere in construction.

Apart from the aforementioned benefits are the massive drawbacks to both the city and its citizens. First, less regulation cannot compromise safety. If the authorities do not tend to supervise the building process, there can be houses with poor constructions which are not approved safe enough for people to stay in. Moreover, those houses can be collapsed when earthquakes occur or can run down in short period of time, which is a life-threatening problem. Second, many buildings with bizarre exteriors can make the locals feel uncomfortable and furthermore, they can ruin the overall layout of the area. Last but not least, the government cannot maintain a standardization of houses in the future because each property now has a different style and to make it happen takes a lot of work and money.

In conclusion, I think that, although there are clearly advantages of few controls for accommodations and architectures, it is necessary for authorities to pass a law to manage the standard of each construction.