It has recently been suggested that the classical, or “dead”, languages Greek and Latin should be re-introduced into the school curriculum. Those that oppose the idea claim that the ancient languages are of no practical use and no help in getting job. Those in favour of the idea say that education is more about training the mind than preparing for a career.

Which of these points of view do you most agree with? Support your argument, where possible, with reason and/ or examples from your own experience and observations.

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about “Dead ancient languages Like Greek and Latin should be reintroduced in school curriculum or not”. While it is possible to claim that ancient languages are not at all useful for future generation. My view is that disadvantages outweigh the advantages. I totally disagree to reintroduce and in this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why reintroducing of ancient languages into school syllabus is considered as disadvantageous to the society. One of them is, according to the modern world languages like Greek and Latin are not at all useful for study purpose. Just students get to know about the value of language but can’t implement practically to communicate and to learn something. It can be argued that education is more about training mind than preparing for a career. While every student wants to achieve his goal so, what is the use if they are teaching which is of no use in this practical world!

Those who argue for not re-introducing in school syllabus are actually a good thing. Firstly it is claimed that at present, in this developed world students should be well educated with a common language which can be used as a source of learning, achieving something, communicate with others. Then, there are concerns about the people who are forcing to reintroduce which is already a dead language.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal view is that, reintroducing ancient language is no use but by reintroducing a common language can help the students to survive, very helpful to achieve job and can easily communicate with other states or countries as they already use English as a common language.