It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punishment to children has always been controversial. Most of the people think that parents and teacher must be taught the difference between right and wrong attitude of children at a very young age. They also think that punishment should be given for the wrongdoing of children. I partially believe that punishment plays a vital role but harsh and physically abused penalties are not allowed, there should be constructive punishment on children’s wrongdoing. Also, there are other measures that should be taken to make child ideal person of society.

In olden days teacher and parents used to give harsh punishments for wrong or misleading acts of children to correct their behaviour and learn discipline. Over time, parents and teachers now understand that it is not the right way to teach because it is not only hurt physically but emotionally. Therefore, parents and educator should give constructive punishment. For example, if a young student does not do the homework, the educator should give punishments as run in the whole ground and do the homework 2 times on next-day. In this way, students not only become physically fit but also, he or she realizes the mistake.

In addition, that, there is another measure that should be taken to inculcate good ethical and moral values. Children’s mind not enough matured to understand to make difference between right and wrong. They imitate their parents’ actions, what they see in televisions and the internet. Thus, parents and teacher should calmly teach the consequences of bad behaviour and how it will affect their personality. In addition to this, also parents and educators should give rewards for their good doings so it will give encouragement to do the right thing. As a result, children can easily learn the difference between right and wrong.

In conclusion, I believe that constructive punishment, teaching the consequences of wrong behaviour and rewarding them on good doings, these are important factors for youngsters to learn the difference between right and wrong.