It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Learning the difference between right and wrong at early age is beneficial for personality development of children. Personally, to help them distinguish right from wrong punishment is necessary but, considering their sentimentality only mild punishments should be used.

Firstly, grasping ability of children is excellent, hence it becomes crucial to nourish them with moral values and good habbits at younger age. During this parents and teachers likely experience misbehaviour or revolt to certain of their teachings from children. Therefore it is mandatory to punish children to make them realise the consequences of their indecent behaviour. For example, a teenagers who bully disadvantaged kids at school. Not punishing them seems like encouraging their bullying behavior leading them to believe that they don't need to respect their peer. If this keeps on persisting then the child becomes reprehensible. Punishment makes them realise their mistakes and they may very likely stop bullying others, otherwise they will deal with consequences again.

However, only tender punishments should be used to discipline children. Children are more rebellious at younger age and using harsh punishments like scolding or spanking them might make them more rebellious or insensitive. Instead, parents can use descent disciplining methods such as taking away children's pocket money, making them so household chores and at the same time educating them why the receive punishment. These practices are unlikely to hurt their feelings, reducing the possibilities of offensive actions.

In conclusion, children should be punished if they misbehave because this let's them know that audacious behaviour brings bad consequences. Nevertheless, it is essential to take care not to hurt their feelings. Therefore, only lenient punishments should be preferred to help children learn to differentiate between right and wrong.