It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

In an early age, children must learn to differentiate right and wrong. Some people believe that they should use punishment in teaching the children that lesson. In my view, I strongly agree with applying punishment to help children learn that distinction better.

Children should learn about good things in their early life since this is the state of establishing their personality and the stage of curiosity about things around them. Therefore, teaching them what they should and should not do is necessary. During that process, punishment is a great tool to help them learn it effectively. Punishment makes children understand that this is a consequence of doing bad things. For instance, when a child behaves wrong like trying to take a friend's toys. Parents can punish him by cutting his entertainment time. This makes him know when having bad behavior, he will receive what he doesn't want to. Then, he may consider not doing those bad things again.

However, if parents and teachers discipline the children improperly, it can lead to a reverse effect. Therefore, when deciding to use punishment, parents and teachers should consider the situation, the characteristic of the child to give out the proper one. Instead of using severe punishment, can implement mild one to help children figure out why they receive it. For example, when a child tells a lie, parents can punish her by requiring her to read a book related to the consequences of telling lies, such as the book 'The boy who cried wolf’. After reading that book she may understand how badly lying is and stop doing that.

In conclusion, punishment helps parents and teachers in raising children's awareness about right and wrong. However, punishment should be used in the right way and prioritize the mild one.