It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives

Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

People should be willing to take risks in their careers as well as their private lives. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are a number of major drawbacks when people take risks in their lives. The first drawback is this trend would have an adverse impact on finance. Investors, for instance, who do risky business in start-up companies, will lose their money for gaining no profit if these companies can not develop as their hopes and may make them face with losses and debts. Another negative effect is the failures and losses of taking risks could lead people to shame and discouragement. People need to face the fact that they will get nothing back after their all money, time and effort. This makes them feel embarrassed with their friends, family and business partner.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, taking risks helps everyone to open up new opportunities. Stepping out of the comfort zone leads to chances to make friends over the world and go to places where people have never been there. My cousin is a case in point. She decided to quit her current job, which gave her a high salary to study master’s degree aboard. Although the application process was quite hard, she now has opportunities to meet the experts in the field she is studying, which help her a lot in her future job. Finally, people are more confident and braver after running a risk. Managing to overcome all difficulties enriches people’s knowledge and experience and drives them to their own success.

In conclusion, I would agree that taking risks in either professional life or personal life brings more benefits than drawbacks.