It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on

people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believe that states should give aid to their own citizens instead of assisting people in other countries. While it is true that it is necessary for the governments to support their local residents, I would argue that they can provide help for individuals coming from other nations.

To begin with, there are several reasons why governments should help their local citizens. Firstly, it is clear that a great number of individuals in their own nations have to encounter many difficulties. For example, people in mountainous areas face several problems such as unempoyment, shortage of food, fresh water or low quality heath care. Therefore, these people need to be given aid by the states which might improve their living standard. In addtition, when receiving help from the governments, citizens will have better life. This might decrease social evils and contibute to the development of the nations. If residents lead a miserable life, they are more likely to commit crimes such as robbery or theft.

However, I would argue that it is possible to support people in other countries. First of all, because of participating in international organizations such as United Nations, each country has to conduct missions to support the others. For example, in 2018, many Vietnames doctors left for South Sudan to join UN peacekeeping mission. Moreover, governments can supply their aid for the nations suffering from natural disasters. Taking Japan as an example, this nation received finacial aid, food or medical aid from other countries after being hit by a big earthquake in 2011. This might consolidate the close relationship among nations.

In conclusion, while government should assist their local people , I think that they are likely to give aid to citizens of other countries.