It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can just learn much from books, films and the Internet. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that individuals can widen their knowledge about culture of other people by reading books, watching films or surfing the Internet instead of visiting other places. While it is true that information about other cultures can be gained through books, films and the Internet, I would argue that it is essential to go to other destinations to learn about cultures.

To begin with, books, films and the Internet allow people to acquire knowledge about cultures. First of all, because books, films and the Internet are great sources of information, people can easily find out whatever they want to know. For example, using google enables an individual living in Viet Nam to search for all information about cultures of Afican countries. Moreover, obtaining information through books, films and the Internet does not cost as much money as travelling, which encourages more people to gain knowledge about other cultures. If books, films and the Internet were not available, the poor might not be able to learn about cultures of other people around the world.

However, there are several reasons why individuals need to pay a visit to places to gain information about other cultures. Firstly, travelling gives people the chance to to talk to or even live with local residents. For example, when visiting Sapa, tourists can experience real life of minority ethnic people or join their festivals. This may lead to visitors’deeper understanding of other cultures. In addition, going to other destinations provides individuals with interesting experiences. Tourists can discover new things that are not mentioned in books, films or on the Internet, which might arouse their interest in learning about cultures of other people.

In conclusion, while there are many information we can acquire from books, films and the Internet, I believe that it is necessary to travel to different places to enhance people’s understanding of other cultures.