It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local

history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some commentators argue that it is more important for children to study the history of their own country or region, rather than the history of the world. I disagree with this view, because I believe that schools should teach local,

national and world history.

On the one hand, it is significant that schoolchildren should learn about their local history. Firstly, knowing about the past of their region or country will foster a sense of belonging and pride in each child. For example, by studying how earlier generations fought and made sacrifices for the freedom of the country, Vietnamese youngsters will appreciate more the value of the way of life and liberty that they enjoy today. Secondly, young children also learn about the origins and core values of their motherland through history lessons. As a result, they will gain a deeper understanding of each traditional event, and be motivated to carry on the best customs for generations to come.

On the other hand, the value of studying world history must not be underestimated. The modern trend towards globalization makes it all the more necessary for schoolchildren to have some knowledge of people from other ethnic groups and different traditions. Armed with this broader perspective, it will be easier for them to form a mutual understanding if they know about the origins and past development of other people across the world. Another important factor is that a study of world history provides youngsters with an overview of the interrelationship of nations and how international historical events, such as the end of colonialism, have shaped contemporary society.

In conclusion, I would argue that it is equally important for schoolboys and schoolgirls to study local history as well as world history