It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some commentators argue that it is more prior for children to study about history of their own countries. I completely disagree with this view, it is equally important to learn both.

On the one hand, it is significant that schoolchildren should learn about their local history. Firstly, being aware of the past of their countries will foster a sense of belonging and pride in each child. By studying how previous generations fought and made sacrifices for freedom for the country, for example, Vietnamese youngsters will appreciate more the value of the way of life and liberty that they enjoy today. Secondly, children also learn about the core values of their homeland through history lessons. As a result, they will attain a deeper understanding of each traditional event and be motivated to carry on the best customs to next generations.

On the other hand, the value of world history must not be underestimated. The midden trend towards globalization makes it all the necessary for children to have grasp of some knowledge of people that come from different ethnic groups all around the world. Armed with this broader perspective, it is easier for children to form a mutual understanding if they know about the origins and the onward march of other people across the world. Another factor is that a study of world history will provide them an overview of the inter-relationship of nations and how international events, such as the end of colonialism, have shaped contemporary society.