It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nobody can ignore the importance of the knowledge about our local history handed to us by our predecessors. However, much can be gained by knowing that there is a bigger picture waiting to be collected and learned from.

“There is lessons in history”. This quote appears to be the best reason to study history. Much can be learnt from certain local historic events, why did some wars occurred, why several political decisions had been made; to answer these questions: was it for the betterment of the people, or was it made only for personal gains? No matter the answer, these events made the situation we are in nowadays. Local history can teach us about our community and how some events having impact on the lives of ordinary people. These lessons can aid schoolchildren what they need about thinking twice before making an important decision and then, taking action wisely. It can teach them patience when needed, or to answer harshly when required (e.g. defending the innocents).

Yet, learning about the world history has its benefits. It can inspire the schoolchildren and it is the best way to understand foreign cultures. It is the bigger picture which is vital to some extent, to understand human and societal evolutions. The more important reasons to study history is that it provides our identity and it is essential to perform our roles as proud and fruitful citizens of our community. Besides, it applies directly to many careers and can clearly help us in our working lives.

In conclusion, I partly agree with both presented perspectives for the importance of studying territorial or foreign history for schoolchildren. History made the human being what they are now, no matter the place of occurrence, but for the knowledge and wisdom we can obtain from its lessons.