It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct. There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the extinction of animals are normal, human interference in the phenomenon is thus meaningless. I mostly disagree with the notion as the majority of animals have their roles in the ecosystem, albeit there are certain exceptions.

There are two main merits of safeguarding survial of animals. The first point in support of this view is that animal kingdom provides human with valuable genes. It is common that humanity extract byproducts from animals to serve for human’s well-being. Their uses can come in forms of chemical compounds, food, and bones which can be utilized as medicines, accessories, or production inputs of other industrial products. Another justification for intervening the disappearance of animals is to sustain the ecological equilibrium. Some living creatures may not have economic benefits or applications in pharmaceutical and manufacturing industries. They, however, are the beating heart of the existence of other species. Flys, the insects that are often associated with diseases and filth, contribute greatly to natural balance by facilitating decomposing process of organic compounds which creates the breeding ground for a plethora of flora and fauna.

Admittedly, there are animals whose appearance are at odds with other creatures. Ticks, the blood suckers which thrive on other species could examplify the phenomenon. The parasites transmitting pathogen and sucking the blood of wild and domesticated animals, while have little positive implications on the animals and the nature as a whole. However, animals bring more harm than good like ticks are few. Protection of animals against natural selection are still of primary importance.

In sum, I mainly object to the idea that preservation of fauna is furtile. Even though certain species are a bane of human’s life, most of animals are worth protection of homo sapien.