It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since time immemorial, human cares as to how to shield endangered animals from extinction are insufficient. I, as a fervent animal protector, censure the multitudes’ nonchalant attitudes towards animal preservation owing to the responsibility of human beings and biodiversity.

Admittedly, the primary reason for protecting rare animals is the vital roles they play in not just the balance of the ecosystem but also in people’s lives. Everything within nature is interconnected, if one animal becomes extinct, the food chain would be disrupted, affecting multitudes of other animals, even plants. For example, black rat snakes are predators of mice and rats, in the interim, they are preys to red-tailed hawks and owls. In a field, the herd of mice is always in control thanks to snakes; however, hunting activity sparking the diminishing number of snakes causes following repercussions on the community. Hawks, as a result, starve to death due to the lack of food while rats wreak havoc on crops, which directly escalates farmers’ tension regarding the deterioration in crop yields. Hence, not only human beings but also the ecosystem is under fierce threats from the utter disappearances of endangered animals since they are a part of nature.

In addition, protecting animals on the verge of extinction is an obvious duty of people based on the immense impact they did. Time has proven the grandiose influence that humans exert on the earth, particularly on animals. To date, the inexorable expansion of human residence, exceptionally for cultivation and settlement, has resulted in the loss of animal habitats for hundreds of years. Illegal hunting as a livelihood is driving a myriad of species to extinction or putting them in great jeopardy. This suggests that humans are held accountable for rectifying the problem and dealing with the consequence.

In conclusion, although humans are not to blame for the extinction of several prehistoric animals, extinction would be their responsibility if they did not shield live species now.