It is neither possible nor useful for the government to provide university places for a large proportion of students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that offering opportunities to study at universities to a larger number of students is impossible as well as useless for goverments. I completely agree with this statement because of enormous expenditure compared to its negligible benefits.

First of all, the authorities' spending on education could increase significantly as they have to invest more into facilities and coverage of tuition fee's shortage. Each university has fixed capacity to offer in-person classes, therefore, the more students study the more demand of infrastructure needs which leads to a burden for gevernments to cover. In addition, raising the proportion of students studying at universities can indirectly increase the amount of exemption cases in education system and this expenditure usually paid by goverments. As a result, it is impossible for the governments to cover all of that cost.

Secondly, increasing number of higher-education student may not be as useful as some peole believe due to the nature of universities itself. It is a choice of people to pursue highe level of education, so offering these people the opportunities of studying at universities is inefficient and does not brings back any values. Furthermore, highschool graduates is still a important workforce in societies besides of universities' graduates and the surplus of the later labor force can lead to harmful impacts to a nation rather than positive effects.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree to the statement of providing universities places for larger number of students as it can be impposible to conduct due to limited budget of the government and little benefits it brings back to societies.