Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Governments provide many services to their citizens, namely education, healthcare, and entertainment. However, some people believe that the authorities should prioritize spending in useful sectors only, which do not include the arts. I thoroughly disagree with this since the arts can greatly benefit both individuals and society as a whole.

A main argument for investing in the arts is that it can save the government money in other areas, especially healthcare. This is because art is one of the best means people have to express themselves and vent their emotions, which helps in relieving a lot of the stress of modern life. In fact, art therapy is becoming increasingly popular in many countries as a form of psychological treatment for depression and anxiety. In the long term, this can save governments the expense of treating these types of patients at hospitals. In addition, art allows activists to draw attention to local or global matters that concern them by painting, performing plays, or singing in order to raise public awareness; governments can utilize the same approach to promote health-related issues.

In addition to reducing healthcare costs, art can preserve cultures and support social security. Most of the traditions we practice nowadays have been passed down from generation to generation through some forms of art, such as poems and rituals. To illustrate, some marriage ceremonies in modern Egyptian society follow the same customs as those of the Pharaohs’ era as depicted on ancient monuments. Moreover, art provides employment to thousands in museums, galleries, and other venues, thereby supporting the tourism industry and boosting the economy. Thus, not only can a government help the nation’s economy through art, but it can also maintain the culture that creates national pride and attracts visitors.

In conclusion, government spending on the arts is clearly not a waste of budget resources; on the contrary, investing in the arts significantly benefits societies.