The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the age of digital 4.0, people have more chances to access online communication application that makes social media becomes an integral part of daily life and may substitute face-to-face engagement among human. However, in my point of view, social media still has many downsides over its benefits brought to our lives.

Though social media is popular nowadays, it still can not become the sole communication method due to the limitation of the number of users, the lack of emotional expressing capacity, and the dependency on internet connection. We all know that not everyone uses social media, especially elderly people and rural residents. Once face-to-face interaction is replaced, we will lose connection with people who are out the social media's border. Moreover, our conversations include not only information but also emotion which can not be expressed clearly and sufficiently via the online platform. Imagine that a couple lives apart from each other, how can they hug or kiss through the chatting screen although those gestures are just basic things to show their love. In addition, the internet connection is not always available and stable for us to have a good conversation. It depends on many factors like the devices, the servers, the internet suppliers which are out of our control.

As to the advantages, social media let us come to a new level of convenient communication. We can contact people anytime, anywhere with just an internet-connected device. In businesses, online platforms are now essential workplace where people have meetings and track the progress in remote mode.

Although social media is convenient for communication, I strongly believe that it is not able to put the direct interaction back completely unless everyone uses this platform with a globally perfect connection and technology becomes more advanced to transfer real emotion.