It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

When people wish to gain an understanding of different cultures, it is now possible to obtain a lot of information thanks to books, films and the internet. While this is certainly valuable, I believe that nothing can replace the experience of learning about these cultures at first-hand.

On the one hand, learning about new cultures through books, movies and the internet is definitely useful. Firstly, people could save a great deal of time and money by doing this. Instead of wasting several weeks to see a new place for themselves, due to the breakthrough in storing and providing information, it is much easier to stay at home and still broaden their knowledge about different cultures. Secondly, the amount of information which is available via these kinds of media is limitless. Most people nowadays are able to find out about how others live and think through books and the media.

On the other hand, actually visiting different places has many benefits. One of these is to gain valuable insights through what we experience. For example, many of the tourists to Thailand go to watch the shows of transgender models and claim that they understand better the difficulties of these people. Another reason is that traveling to learn about a different culture gives people countless opportunities to make friends and to share their impressions about what they have seen and done during their trip.

In conclusion, I believe that we can use travel guidebooks, films or the internet to „do our homework‟ in order to decide some of the things and places that we want to experience for ourselves, but we can learn more by experiencing new cultures through traveling.