It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a matter of concern among people over whether traveling to natural areas which are a far distance from the residential areas, such as the South Pole. In my opinion, while this phenomenon can have some benefits, I believe that its drawbacks are more significant.

In the one hand, the main advantage of traveling to remote natural areas is that individuals can expand their horizon. In fact, instead of going to the familiar places which cannot satisfy the people’s curiosity, not only can having a trip to some isolated places gain unforgettable memories but it may also contain numerous amount of knowledge which has never been experienced before. For example, the South Pole, which is the main habitat of penguins, is an ideal site for scientists to do researches on this creature in particular and other environmental aspects in general.

In the other hand, I believe that this development may result in negative development for humans. Firstly, going to remote areas can pose many considerable threats to travelers’ health due to the lack of geographical as well as biological knowledge about these destinations. For instance, visitors who go to the South Pole may not be aware of the severe weather condition, whose temperature can exceed the endurance of a typical person. Secondly, since modern facilities and transportation are required to secure people against dangerous situations, the trip to an isolated environment may cost a huge amount of money. Therefore, these costly trips which can only be afforded by a small group of rich tourists and scientists are limited to approach the middle-class.

In conclusion, while some advocates think that traveling to undiscovered natural environments can have some advantage, I believe that this tendency is much more disadvantageous.