It is often said that to become a successful businessman a tertiary education is not at all necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Some suppose that, to start a profitable business, people need to have higher education, however, others disagree. In this essay, I will explore both views and offer my perspective.

On the one hand, getting a degree is essential for people who are into business, because they learn theory and techniques of how to properly manage the team, finances and other essential skills. Moreover, it is crucial for start-up entrepreneurs because they can communicate with other students and professors, hence asking for advice as well as preventing common mistakes, which beginners commit. To illustrate, the University of Toronto offers business studies where students can acquire their bachelor’s degree and meet plenty of smart people with who they can interact and possibly coöperate in the future.

At the same time, to be a prosperous business owner, a person does not need to have a diploma in management, however, they need to have a passion and courage to start and keep up their own firm. For example, many famous founders, such as Steve Jobs or Bill Gates did not graduate from a university but dared to launch their own businesses that still exist and their stocks increase continually. Furthermore, enrollment at college or university can be a financial burden, therefore, the more rational solution for many people is to start their business and invest their efforts and finances into it instead of studying.

In conclusion, although a degree in business is a beneficial supplement, I believe that people do not have to acquire one because education is exorbitant and time-consuming, and should run their business whenever they feel that they are ready.