Some people think that children should be studying all the mandatory subjects until the age of ten, while others believe they should have an option to select favourite subjects to study. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your experience.

Many individuals suppose that elementary school students need to take all compulsory courses until grade 5, however, others oppose that they should be given a choice to decide what classes they are going to study. In this essay, I will explore both views and provide my own point of view.

On the one hand, mandatory courses train essential skills that are needed for school subjects. To illustrate, I use handy techniques, which I was taught in elementary school, in my current studies in high school, such as maths measurements and basic calculations. They are advantageous in my Computer Science and Physics classes.

At the same time, an opportunity to have a free choice between different courses is essential for children because they can spend more time on the subjects they enjoy so that they keep their interest and motivation. If a child adores drawing, playing the instrument or acting, a more rational solution is that he or she spends all the time performing what they are keen on. Furthermore, elective classes help young students to broaden their horizons, thus they can try different areas of studies and determine what they are interested in and study it in the future. In my experience, hobbies are chosen voluntary and people are very enthusiastic about them. Therefore, if this approach is used in the school education system, it would provide better results.

In conclusion, although children should be obliged to study essential courses, such as Mathematics, English and Science, in order to use earned experience in other fields, I believe that they should have an option to choose desirable subjects.