Some people think that children should be studying all the mandatory subjects until the age of ten, while others believe they should have an option to select favourite subjects to study. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your experience.

Many individuals suppose that juveniles need to take all compulsory courses until grade 5, however, others oppose that they should be given a choice to decide what classes they are going to study. In this essay, I will explore both views and give my point of view.

On the one hand, mandatory courses form a firm basis, hence it benefits adolescents by the fact that they will use the acquired knowledge in other favourite subjects. To illustrate, I use handy techniques, which I was taught in elementary school in my current studies, such as measurements and basic calculations that I learned in Maths. They are advantageous in my Computer Science and Physics classes.

At the same time, an opportunity to have a free choice between different courses is essential for children because they can spend more time on the subjects they enjoy. If a child adores drawing, playing the instrument or acting, a more rational solution is that he or she spends all the time performing what they are keen on. Furthermore, elective classes help young students to broaden their horizons, thus they can attempt different areas of studies and decide what they are interested in and study it in the future. In my experience, many of my friends are appreciative that they had an opportunity to try themselves in subjects that they would never take, as a result, they connected their careers with them.

In conclusion, although children should be obliged to study essential courses, such as Mathematics, English and Science to use earned experience in other fields, I believe that every young student should have an option to learn what they want.