It is said that the fast pace of our everyday life, as a direct result of the rapid development of telecommunications technology and travel industry, has negative effects on individuals, nation and the globe. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Not surprisingly, many aspects of people’s daily lives have undergone considerable changes because of the recent development in technology. It is a particular concern that the pace of everyday life is becoming faster, resulting from the development in cars, air travel, telecommunications technology and the Internet. As well as benefits, this trend is to bring problems.

On the positive side, the fast rhythm of life requires people to enhance efficiency when working and the allows them to enjoy longer leisure time. With the advance in telecommunications, people can make inquires by phone, instead of travelling long distances. Internet access makes it possible for one to perform various tasks without leaving their offices. Even though people have to travel every now and then for meeting business partners, visiting clients in other cities or other purposes, modern transport networks reduce the amount of time they spend on commutes.

The acceleration of the pace of life also implies the expansion of people’s social circle. In the past, social relationships were limited by physical factors such as geographical distance and low mobility, but nowadays, one can travel further and get acquainted with more people with those technological advances, such as the railroad, the automobile and the telephone. For instance, the rapid penetration of telecommunications technology has made the mobile phone a key social tool and people rely on their mobiles phone address book to keep in touch with their friends.

On the negative side, the fast –paced lifestyle is responsible for the upsurge in lifestyle-related problems. Jobs become demanding and require workers’ full commitment, resulting in their depression and pressure. Underneath the façade of continued contraction of official working hours, employees are actually working, primarily because tax, email or other communication devices have made them accessible to their supervisors, colleagues and customers after work. They have to respond instantly to voice and email messages from other. Private life has to be sacrificed.

According to the facts above, the doubts about the negative effects of the acceleration of pace of life are not well-grounded. People now enjoy greater well-being, which is reflected in more quality family time, less travel-related stress and close contact with friends and family members. However, they might have to accept frequent instructions as a by-product of convenient communication.