Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that computers and mobiles play an increasing crucial role in our communication. Although using them could take a toll on the capacity of children’s reading and writing, I would wish to argue that positive impacts on these skills should be highly regarded.

On the other hand, modern technologies can not only automatically fix spelling and grammatical mistakes but also propose a wide range of keyword suggestions, which have permitted young generation to create tests without effort. However, they will in the long term attach less importance to checking their documents whether right or wrong, which result in careless writing skill. In addition, according to advanced devices, instant messages seem to be preferred to hand-written letter. When young people write this type of message, they have a trend to shorten words and use smileys or stickers to perform their emotion. In doing so, the process of communication may happen more quickly, it is fairly possible to misspell common words, which end up with poorer reading and writing.

By contrast, if the computer and the mobile phone are made use of maximum, especially in Internet age, the youth can not only get free and quick access to a wide range of valuable sources, ranging from novels, science fictions, to reference books, but also can share widely in just a couple of clicks. Thus, the ability of their reading can improve to a certain extent. Moreover, with the increasing popularity of social networking sites, electronic gadgets like them also permit the youth to easily make daily posts about whatever they have experienced on a daily basis. The more the practice writing, the more likely they are to develop this ability

To sum up, although the use of mobiles and computers has some negative impacts on young generation. Its advantages are a great deal of worthier of attraction.