It is not uncommon that children are required to obey the rule of their parents and teachers. Some people are worried that too much control over children will not prepare them well for their adult life. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Adults’ intervention plays a pivotal role in a child’s development. Despite this general knowledge, people are very often confronted with the arguments about the appropriateness of some traditional teaching styles and methods, such as enforcing rules and requiring children’s compliance. I agree that rules set by parents contribute greatly to the shaping of children’s behavior, personalities and all other personal characteristics, although I question the view that it is definitely beneficial to children.

There is no point in denying that rule setting is possibly the most effective method in overcoming some upbringing difficulties, such as protecting children from dangers and guiding them to act rationally. Children are adventuresome and full of curiosity. They attempt various activities, either with deliberation or on the spur of the moment. Imposing rules is therefore imperative, as it prevents many problems from occurring. For example, forbidding accessing knives, medicine, microwaves or ovens can minimize the risk of accidents and injuries. Some other rules, such as forbidding spitting, nose-picking and foul language, lead children to develop proper demeanor in different social situations, and to adhere to strict rules of professional etiquettes form their early childhood.

However, rules should be lifted gradually as children grow older, especially when it becomes clear that rules tent to restrain children’s mental development. In a traditional classroom, for example, rules are set and applied to underpin the authority of a teacher. Students are not allowed to pose question at will, nor are they allowed to pose questions at will, nor are they question to challenge teachers’ answers. Many of their learning process and forming numerous misconceptions. Another problem is that it will discourage students from reflecting on what they have learnt, and dampen their passion for learning. They are trained as mechanical or rote learners, while their aptitude for creativity is stifled.

As indicate above, whether to impose rules on children is determined as much by the age of children as by the appropriateness of rules themselves. For young children, strict rules should be set to ensure children’s safety and health. For older children, rules should by concerned about children’s behavior on social occasions. When children become responsible and knowledgeable with age, rules should be phased out.